top of page

SEPTEMBER WINS

***STATS***

Comps Entered: approx 400, plus approx. 20 Twitter RT's

Comps Won: 7

Ratio: 1:60

Approx Prize Value: £1659

Longest Winning Streak: 3 Days Straight

Non-Comping Days: 27!!

By rights, this months blog should barely exist. By rights, there should be no wins, no stats...just an empty page with a picture of me shrugging....

...as I have been an awful, shameful comper this month- take away my microwaveable soup cup and dis-arm me of my branded fish-slice! I have barely done a thing: a day or two of lazy comping, while I pretend that **I have too busy a life to do it...I mean...that telly doesn't watch itself! But still, for some reason, because the universe loves me, or because I made a deal with the devil, I have still been rewarded with some superb wins!

**utter lies.

***PRIZES***

1. Netgear Orbi RBK50 router from an effort competition on the Daily Brew blog. You had to tell them about a time where your internet connection has failed you and why you would need this router. I wrote about how I was face timing my friend Yabrell from Missouri during the presidential election and we lost connection just as his state was announcing- very frustrating as I loves me a bit of politics! Anyways, I nearly didn't get this prize as the notification went to my junk mail and they were very close to choosing another winner! But thankfully, the lovely people at Netgear agreed to honour the prize and sent me it the next day! Woo! Lesson learned tho: check junk mail regularly!!

2. 12 Krispy Kreme donuts voucher!! I think for this one you could enter everyday across social media and you had to post a picture of you and your friends/family all smiling together. I posted on Twitter, one of me and my mates from New Years Eve, looking somewhat merry.... I only entered once and a few weeks later, I was surprised to hear that they had picked mine! Yay! Ill be saving this one as a stocking filler (tho I must check the date...) for my mate Scot who is a police officer.

3. Now this is a random one.....A luxury break in the Forest of Dean for 4 people! Blooming heck yes! But...I didn't actually enter a competition for this! The competition was to win £100 through the National Lottery Facebook page: post a picture and tell them what you would buy for someone, with the hashtag #ifIwinyouwin (or something like that). Its a competition that was apparently run every week until recently, but as I don't normally do Facebook competitions, I only did it the once, didn't win £100, and duly forgot to do it again (I really am a terrible comper!!). Quite bizarrely, a month or so later, the National Lottery peeps commented on my post that they would like to give me a special prize and that I was to contact them for details. I thought it would be a goody bag, or maybe even £100...it turned out to be this...!

How awesome is that?? Its a very welcome treat as its been **AAAGGGGGEEEEESSSSSS since my last holiday: those who won the Cirio competition know just how long its been!

4. Being Charlie on DVD from en email entry competition through Nerdly. Always nice to win films...its getting added to the pile.

5. An Organicup for me "and a friend" from a prize draw with Celebrity Angels. Not sure about this one...I almost didn't reply to the email as the idea of using it made me feel a bit squeamish. PLUS they asked what size I wanted: rather taken aback by someone asking about the circumference of my hoohoo. PLUS PLUS the "and a friend" bit...bit weird...matching shoes or nail varnish is one thing, but.....too far? PLUS PLUS PLUS I just keep thinking of the opening scene from Carrie....

6. A Surcare bundle of cleaning products from a prize draw on the UKMUMS.TV website. Its not the most exciting of prizes, but hey, it saves me money so that I can spend it on Hubba Bubba and yo-yos instead. Oooh, and Ive just realised I haven't done a sexy pie-chart for a bit, so lets take a look at my monthly expenditure!

7. Christina Johnston CD from an email entry prize draw with Music News. I think I entered a whole bunch of their comps- maybe 5-10 a month possibly? To be honest, I have no idea who she is and I doubt its my sort of thing. Unless she does Pixies covers. I doubt she does.

***ALSO RANS***

Well yes there was this little Cirio prize that a few Lucky Learners won...Im sure you don't want to read about that...so I'll just leave this picture of the view from our apartment instead...

(on a side note, just a massive thanks and a smoochy 'hello' to those who were on the trip with us- super lovely to meet you all, especially you Terri!! ;) )

***AND BECAUSE WINNING PRIZES ISN'T ENOUGH...***

...I also won a little something else. Some of you may know that earlier in the year a script I wrote- '2-Player Games'- got chosen to be made for BBC Wales. Well it was shot over the summer and premiered along with the 8 other films in the series at the Wales Millennium Centre in September. It was a fantastic evening, with a great slate of films, fab guests (including my hero Russell T Davies!) and lots of boozing and schmoozing! I am also super proud to say that my film won the 'Peoples Choice' award, meaning that it was the favourite of those watching them that evening! I cried a bit at that one. Its currently available for a short while on BBC iPlayer, and would love it if you would give it a view and let me know what you think:

Love your hair, hope you win!

bottom of page