top of page

YOUR OPINION IS IMPORTANT TO US....

Hiiieeeeeeeee! I looked at the stats on this blog, and even tho Ive only written a few posts and it hasn't existed for long, its had over 1000 hits....I honestly thought I would get like 4! So thanks, whoever it is out there thats taking a look!

That brings me to another matter...having a proper online identity. Ever since I was a teenager Ive run little businesses or made some kind of media. Back in the 90's I used to make copies of live recordings of indie bands and sell the C90's through the Select magazine classifieds (I even had a hand-written, photocopied 'catalogue'!) and my 'business name' was 'Xenophobe'- the same as the Fanzine I used to write. [At this point I shall put in a little question to Di Coke in the hopes that she reads this: did you go to art college/uni in Brighton in the 90's? My brother did, and he used to send me copies of a Brighton-made fanzine called 'Fantasy-Y-Fronts', just wondering if you ever saw it].

Then I went to uni (the first time) and started out a music management company (we signed one band- they were awful) and I called it 'Rent Boy Management'. In the last 6 years I have been making films, nipple tassels, jewellery and shiny things, alongside a few videos on youtube and a bit of writing. The problem is that I have so many online personas I DONT KNOW WHO I AM ANYMORE!!

So...after being inspired by The Mini Millionaire and the live discussion of their online identities, I'm also thinking of just having the one persona (not like I am in anyway a known person in the blogging world, but...y'know...ego ;) ). But, will it be a real pain-in-the-arse to change it now? Hmm, lets write a list and if we are feeling crazy enough, perhaps some up with a delicious pie-chart to demonstrate? On go on then!!

PROs

*Easy to manage one persona. Its difficult enough to create and manage one online persona- the Facebook, instagram etc all require banners, logos, biogs...uuurgh. Having one means you can just cut'n'paste all that nonsense!

*Easy for people to find you. Yes! I mean, its not so important to me now, as I don't have a monetised blog or YouTube channel and so traffic or visibility isn't important at the moment, but that doesnt mean I can't lay the groundwork for maybe needing this later?

*Easy for you to find yourself!! Some people need to go travelling or sit in a field and meditate to find themselves. Wouldn't life be so much simpler if you could just Google yourself and find the same spiritual results? No, that would be silly. But, it would be useful in comping terms, so that you can search Twitter etc to see if you have been named as a winner, but not had a notification.

*Bloggers with an online presence sometimes get free stuff! Thats true tho isn't it? Whether its being sent things to review, invited to events to vlog about them, winning competitions that perhaps favour those with many followers, or even just to stay in the good books of sites like BzzAgent: its got to be useful in that sense?

CONs

*Having to change all the social media that currently exists to the new persona. What a pain!

*What happens to all the competitions (Rafflecopters etc) that have been entered that now have the OLD identity attached? Does that mean having to sacrifice potential wins from those? In that case, when in the month is it best to do this?

*Finding a theme or niche. Most of the successful online personas have a focus to them: mommy blogging, money saving etc. I don't...and I doubt I would ever be able to stick to one subject anyway because I get bored so easily!

*Easy for people to find you! Yes I know this was a pro, but theres also something comforting about remaining anonymous, especially if you are on the run from the cops for being an international jewel thief, as I am.

Conclusion

Thats all I can think of right now, so at this point, lets bring in the pie chart!

Damn, thats a fine piece of pie. No really tho...

And as you can see, thats just as useful! It would be great to hear what peoples opinions on this are: from bloggers, vloggers etc, but also from people who just have a uniform identity across all platforms and whether that is useful for them.

Oh, and I don't expect a lot of traffic on this post, but if you are one of the 4 people that read this, please do leave a comment. Cheers bruv!

bottom of page