top of page

MARCH WINS

***STATS***

Comps Entered: approx 3200

Comps Won: 16 (including multiples)

Ratio: 1:200

Approx Prize Value: £1053

Something happens in March doesn't it...is it Mothers Day? I figured I'd try to win something for my mom this month and thankfully because she isn't a 'typical' mom, I knew that I could steer clear of most of the comps that included the, shall we say, more traditional mothers day gifts. My mom wanted power tools. Lets see how that went...

***PRIZES***

1. ANOTHER PS4!!! Yes as part of the Walkers snap-and-share promotion, there was also a Tesco comp running alongside, and I won on that too!! No one needs 2 PS4's (tho my best mate Scot would argue otherwise), so this one went to my nephew Tom. Look at his little face!

2. ANOTHER KITKAT!! Yay! This came in time for Mothers Day. Most moms tho would say "Oh no, I won't eat it, I'll keep that". Not my mom! Managed to snap a shot before it got nommed.

3. 3x Piano Mats from the Ready Brek prize draw (as mentioned on Di's Superlucky blog). Entered this a few times...and won three!! Really wasn't expecting that! Lovely little prize that made me go back and watch 80's classic film Big (you all should know why!). Got a few mates with young kids, so they have gone to good homes.

4. Football!! Woo! Again from Walkers. Nearly considered not claiming as I'm not a footy person, but again I figured I could gift it on to my mates kids who I'm sure will appreciate it.

5. Hair Products from a Glowwbox Rafflecopter. I didn't realise when I entered that it was for curly hair....oops! Still, its a nice prize of rather posh stuff and I'm sure at some point I will find someone to gift it too.

6. Light Between The Oceans DVD from a prize draw on Roobla. Lovely film from a great book, plus its got Michael Fassbender in it and I LOVE HIM. So cheers for that!

7. KARCHER POWER WASHER!!! Purchase/prize draw comp from Plenty and Tesco. Yes! This is the one mom wanted so very pleased with this win. My mom was away on holiday with her best mate when I got the winning e-mail (WEM). She had been telling her friend over lunch about all the things I had won and her friend thought it was amazing! As they were having dessert, I text my mom to say I had won this for her- I think they celebrated with another glass of wine! This was an odd but great comp where you had to purchase Plenty from Tesco, go to their site, enter the code on the pack and pick a prize you would like to win. There were some ace prizes, such as TV's, bikes, vouchers etc, but I figured that I would have a better chance going for the power washer, as its quite a 'boring' prize compared to the others. My tactics worked, and after 3 weeks (and 6 purchases of Plenty kitchen roll- always handy!) I won! My mom was very happy. Look at her little face!

8. Sony Headphones from the Tesco part of the Walkers snap-and-share promotion. What a great competition! As embarrassing as it may be to send these photos each day, it paid dividends! I won these on the very last day of the Tesco comp and they are great!

9. Carling Beer 4-Pack from the Carling Tap App. Someone mentioned this on Di Coke's Facebook group and I think a bunch of us downloaded, picked a player and won that afternoon! Not huge value (tho I think at some point you can win tickets to a match- meh), but 4 bottles of the tasty Carling Zest is a nice little bonus!

10. Wooden coaster for Mothers Day. OK I said no traditional, slushy 'I love you mom you are the greatest mom ever blah blah' stuff (she really wouldn't like it), but I did think this was cute! Won on a Gleam from the Dust and Things Facebook page, I entered as they were giving away quite a few (20 I think), so great odds, plus its in my moms favourite colour. Oh and who doesn't love a tea related pun?

11. Neil Gaiman - Norse Mythology book, won from a prize draw by SFX. Super pleased to get another quality book. This one is def a keeper and Im sure will be passed around a few members of my family. I might even read this one!

12. Travel Cable Organiser from a daily entry prize draw from Toucan Travel. This was daily entry with the main prize being a holiday! Sadly, I didn't win the holiday, but the cable organiser (basically a zip up pouch with different compartments) was a welcome prize, as I have a load of cables that need homes! Very useful.

13. Bleed for this Blu-Ray from a Blazing Minds prize draw. I don't actually remember entering this, but its a welcome win! I know a few people who are interested in boxing, so one of them will be getting a treat, depending on how good they are.

14. £500 (!!) from Gumtree. This was a creative/judged competition where you had to show & tell them about something you bought on Gumtree. A few years ago when I started on my film degree, I bought a 2nd hand camera from Gumtree. I used it to film a few short films, one of which won an award which was presented to me at the BFI. I used an app on my phone to make a collage of pictures and I sent it to them on Instagram with the hashtag #GotItOnGumtree.

The £500 was to be used against things to help with my filmmaking......to be honest, some of it has gone on make-up and nights out (I call that inspiration!), but I did also buy an Amazon Echo and a cute little drone that takes still pictures.

***ALSO RAN***

Some prizes that didn't quite make it....

Tickets to the Ideal Home show- didn't end up going, and I don't think these are a prize as such as loads were being given away.

NowTV Passes from Snatch- again, these are being given away everywhere. Im still using a code from Samsung, so these codes will probably expire before I get to use them

Tickets to HRH Festival- would have been a great prize, but I think it was just a way of selling their deluxe accommodation (how can a prize to win festival tickets NOT include camping??- I very much resent having to pay for a prize). To test this theory, I entered another competition they were running, and strangely enough I won that too! And yet again, it didn't come with camping and you had to pay for it yourself! I told them where to stick it. In a nice way.

BUT what a great month for prizes again! I read so much about people having dry spells, so I feel very lucky to have not experienced that yet. However, thinking realistically, it is bound to happen at some point.......

Love your hair, I hope you win!

Lexx

xx

bottom of page