top of page

FEBRUARY WINS

***STATS***

Comps Entered: approx 3500

Comps Won: 24 (including multiples)

Ratio: 1:146

Approx Prize Value: £954

The first 2 weeks of Feb were quiet: understandable as I had only just started! My mates and I were going to make an unboxing video at the end of the month. However, we got increasingly drunk while making it and it is definitely not one for the world at large to see!! Instead here are some screenshots from the video and a list of the wins.

***PRIZES!!!***

***UNBOXING FUN***

***WINS***

1. 5x Quaker Oats 'Cosmic Notebooks'. Purchase/ Instant win comp. You could have 10 goes at this, so I was amazed that I won 5 times (I thought there was a mistake until they all got delivered). Nice little notebooks, always handy!

2. Quaker Oats Tote Bag. Same as above: won on my very last day. Always love a tote bag- handy for taking on holiday to put your worn pants in!

3. 2x Crosse & Blackwell Soup and Mug. Instant wins from the Tesco and Asda promotions. What worked for me was entering at 23:54: Im guessing it was a 'winning moment' comp and people were waiting till midnight to enter, rather than trying a few mins before. Fab mugs and the soup was tasty too (Ive bought it since, so their marketing ploy is definitely working on me!).

4. 2x Personalised KitKats. Purchase and enter a code to win won of 1000 per day. In total I bought 6 and 4 won, so not bad. The first one I had made up was for my Japanese sister-in-law. They love KitKats. They love everything! Great little promo- not high value, but a lovely idea.

5. Shadow of The Noose DVD. My first Twitter win (Simply Media)! Entered mainly just to see if I could win- 3 entries in total and I was chosen to win (probably as I was the only one to comment!). Have never seen the series, and not really my kind of thing, so was gifted on to someone who loves a good courtroom drama.

6. £10 Furzu Voucher and Rosette. A Facebook comp where you send a picture of your pet and they choose the cutest. Only a small start-up company, so the prizes weren't massive, but lovely nonetheless. My fur baby Shizuma Zero won.

7. London Theatre Trip. Thanks to the Munch Bunch 'Sing' prize draw, I was able to treat my mom and sister to a night out in London to see 'The Mousetrap' (can't tell you the ending- we made a promise) and a stay in a 4* hotel, right next to the Thames. We had a great time and are so thankful for Munch Bunch and Breanna at Element London for organising it for us.

8. Kindle Fire. A Facebook competition from Post Mood, where you had to use their software to generate a score that reflected your online 'mood' and then comment that on the competition post. Mine came back with 43% introvert, so I commented the score with "Im so gonna tell everyone!!!". Im not sure if it was a random winner picked, or if it was because my comment was amusing, but either way I won! And a Kindle Fire is a pretty useful little thing to have.

9. Lego DVD. A Rafflecopter on the HeyYouGuys film website (love the name!). I loved The Lego Movie, but this isn't my thing (maybe a bit out of my age range??), so happily gifted to someone who appreciates it.

10. Tate Modern Tickets from a Time Out London prize draw. This was for the Wolfgang Tillsman exhibition. We had planned to go the same weekend as our theatre trip, but time got away from us and we didn't manage it. Fortunately they were open ended tickets, so I gave them to a cinematographer friend who totally loved it!

11. Dr Who book, from a prize draw in Dr Who Magazine. This was actually the first thing I got through the post (and it was a surprise!!) (not sure why I have put it down low on the list...). A great book, which would look ace on my shelves! Its from an original idea by Douglas Adams, whom I loved reading as a teenager. But the reality is now that I don't read as much, so rather than letting it go to waste, it has gone to a good home with a proper fan, who was very pleased.

12. Phantom Boy DVD from the Mum of Three Musketeers blog on a Rafflecopter. I really wanted to see this! Its a French animation (and a bit old for children I think- more along the lines of Spirited Away etc, rather than just a cartoon for kids). Gorgeous animation and a tear-jerker of a story. This is a keeper.

13. PS4!!!! From the Walkers snap-and-share. 3 embarrassing pictures a day on Twitter, and after 2 weeks came the magical notification!! Mega pleased to win this, not just for its high-value, but also because its a prize solely for ME!!

14. Hidden Figures Book and Soundtrack from a prize draw on the EDF Energy site. I have to confess, I was really interested in seeing this film as I love the story and I love anything space-age. The soundtrack looked OK, but I knew I wouldn't get the most from them, so they have now gone to a good home, with someone who will enjoy them properly. I do still want to watch the film tho!!

15. Crate of Friels Cider. We went a bit backwards in our comping on this one.... Fancying a bit of a boozy day, my friend and I figured we would try something new. We picked up some of these ciders and we had a couple, while my mate laughed at my comping escapades (how rude!!). To show her how much fun it can be, I looked on the Friels Twitter account, and lo-and-behold they had a comp running. I got her to pose, doing the same winking face, took a pic and sent it to them:

A week later I get a "congratulations" notification on Twitter: a crate of cider on the way, plus my mate is now a converted comper!

16. Aimee's Perfect Bakes recipe book from a prize draw in The Big Issue. Simple comp, nice book- saving this as a present for my sister for Christmas (shhhhhh, don't tell her!!).

17. Ziggy Startdust cinema tickets from a prize draw in The Mirror. I think with things like this (screenings, exhibitions etc) where they haven't sold many tickets, they give away a lot so that the room isn't so empty! We did really want to go, but on the day it just wasn't possible- gutted. Still, I got a win that begins with 'Z' (for those on the MSE forum, you will know the importance of that!).

18. Pancake Recipe Book won from a prize draw in MyWeekly. Not impressed at this one- a tiny book, that I would expect to find in a pound store, which also came a week after pancake day. Nice one promoters!!

Fantastic wins for my first month of comping! I feel very lucky to have won some prizes that are not only high-value, but also have given some real treats to my family and friends.

Love your hair, I hope you win!

Lexx

xx

bottom of page